Is Divine Frequency Worth It? Early Access Buyer's Guide
Is Divine Frequency worth $20 on Steam? This sourced Early Access buyer guide covers price, 4–6 hour scope, reviews, and demo vs paid—see who should buy or wait.
FAQ
How much does Divine Frequency cost on Steam?
Is Divine Frequency worth $20 in Early Access?
Does Divine Frequency have good Steam reviews?
Can I try Divine Frequency before buying?
Should I wait for the full release?
Is Divine Frequency worth buying in Early Access?
Divine Frequency from Abraxaes costs $19.99 on Steam ($17.99 with the 10% launch discount on our snapshot). Early Access delivers ~4–6 hours across two of three acts, Windows-only, English-only, with no full controller support. Reviews were Very Positive (97% of 94) on 2026-10-28. Buy if that scope fits; wait for Act 3, other languages, or complete gamepad UI.
AppID 2548880 launched October 26, 2026. Early Access includes about 70% of the main game with all weapons and modifications and most character level progression, per the same FAQ. Keyboard and mouse are listed on itch.io; the project lead notes an Accessibility Option for partial pad use with UI gaps. That package fits retro FPS fans who want a compact run now—not buyers who need a finished trilogy or couch play.
What kind of game is it?
Steam lists Action, Adventure, Indie, and Early Access, with user tags such as Horror, FPS, and RPG. Content descriptors include intense violence, blood and gore, enemy dismemberment, and strong language. The store pitch centers on escaping from “the seat of the World’s consciousness” and pushing through the Perimeter into unstable realms, with optional Meso-Divinity arena duels and three primary archetypes (Strength, Wits, Physique) plus weapon modifications.
In a Steam discussion thread, one community member described the feel as a “retro shooter with survival horror elements”—a single-source label, not an official genre stamp. GamingOnLinux (2026-10-27) notes the project builds on GZDoom / UZDoom and that the Windows build ran under Proton 11 in their test; they also report heavy screen effects in the intro that caused eye strain for that reviewer—treat that as one media impression, not a universal fact.

Image: Abraxaes, official Steam store screenshot #1. Build not stated.
Buy now if…
- You want a short, focused campaign slice (~4–6 hours, two acts) with full weapon and mod access in EA, and you are fine stopping before the third act arrives in the full release.
- Very Positive early Steam sentiment (97% / 94 on 2026-10-28) matches your tolerance for Early Access rough edges, including possible stutter or GPU quirks—see our performance and stutter fixes guide for community-reported workarounds, not official patches.
- You play on Windows in English with keyboard and mouse, and you do not require complete gamepad support—details in controller support.
- You like horror-leaning retro FPS with RPG-style stat choices; archetype framing is covered in best builds: Wits, Strength, Physique.
Wait if…
- You need full controller support or reliable UI navigation on a pad—the developer states partial accessibility control only, with UI interactions not fully supported.
- You require a language other than English (interface, audio, and subtitles are English only on the store page).
- You want the complete three-act story, Hardcore Mode, and the extra enemies, bosses, builds, music, and performance fixes promised for 1.0—summarized in Early Access roadmap and Hardcore Mode.
- Heavy screen effects or engine-level quirks worry you; read system requirements and Proton if you plan to play on Linux via Proton, and the stutter guide above for Windows performance reports.
Skip if…
- You refuse Early Access products outright—EA is planned for about one year, possibly two if delays continue, and Abraxaes cites this as their first commercial game after a long demo cycle.
- You need macOS or native Linux builds—the store lists Windows only.
- Intense violence, gore, and dismemberment descriptors are deal-breakers—these are official Steam content warnings.
- You expect a looter shooter grind loop; community replies in one thread push back on that label—see how long to beat and content size for genre context.

Image: Abraxaes, official Steam store screenshot #5. Build not stated.
Price, demo, and the “wait for sale” question
Abraxaes writes: “We’re not planning on changing the price when we leave Early Access.” That reduces the incentive to wait purely for a post-1.0 price drop on the base game, but Steam sales still apply whenever Valve or the publisher runs them. Steam also hosts Divine Frequency Demo as a separate free app (AppID 2641750, Windows, released October 25, 2023). On 2026-10-28 the Store API still linked that demo from the paid game’s store page—check the live Steam page in case the link is removed. For price, scope, saves, and what is still undocumented between builds, see Divine Frequency demo vs Early Access.
For playtime and what is missing until 1.0, use how long to beat rather than guessing from old demo footage alone.
Where does this information come from?
- Divine Frequency on Steam — store price, EA FAQ, reviews, platforms, languages (observed 2026-10-28).
- Steam Store API — Divine Frequency Demo (AppID 2641750) — separate free demo app and store linkage (observed 2026-10-28).
- Divine Frequency on itch.io — keyboard/mouse inputs (observed 2026-10-28).
- Steam discussion: controller support — Genghis Khan (Project Lead) on partial accessibility control (observed 2026-10-28).
- Steam discussion: looter shooter label — community genre reply (observed 2026-10-28).
- GamingOnLinux Early Access article — GZDoom/UZDoom, Proton 11, screen effects (published 2026-10-27, observed 2026-10-28).
Verified against the sources above on 2026-10-28.
Related Articles
bosses
Divine Frequency Bestiary: Known Enemies and Weaknesses
Thirteen Bestiary names from official Divine Frequency Steam screenshots, plus Kin stats, weakness labels, and what is still undocumented for Early Access.
guides
Divine Frequency Controller Support: Keyboard-Only at EA
Official answer: no full controller support at Early Access launch. Partial accessibility option, UI gaps, itch.io keyboard+mouse, and hedged Xbox reports.
guides
Divine Frequency Demo vs Early Access: What You Need to Know
Divine Frequency demo on Steam: free AppID 2641750, how it differs from Early Access, save carryover gaps, and whether to try it before buying.
Was this helpful?
Thanks for the feedback!